AE101 Owners Club
Please log in or register


AE101 Owners Club is a group of 7th gen Corolla enthusiasts from all over the world. If you're a fellow enthusiast, then join us today!
 
HomeRegisterLog in
Log in
Username:
Password:
Log in automatically: 
:: I forgot my password
Latest topics
» The "Green Panda" Hatchback
205/35/R16 Experience, opinions, & thoughts EmptyYesterday at 10:46 pm by ORAIOO

» AE101 arm rest
205/35/R16 Experience, opinions, & thoughts EmptyFri Feb 14, 2020 4:08 am by emmet.harten3

» wind deflectors
205/35/R16 Experience, opinions, & thoughts EmptyFri Feb 14, 2020 4:07 am by emmet.harten3

» What bz touring bumper chin is this?
205/35/R16 Experience, opinions, & thoughts EmptyWed Feb 12, 2020 6:59 pm by vic125

» 4age 20v Blacktop Velocity Stacks
205/35/R16 Experience, opinions, & thoughts EmptyFri Jan 31, 2020 6:15 am by AhmadMohammed4age

» Charlene the AE102
205/35/R16 Experience, opinions, & thoughts EmptySat Dec 28, 2019 10:22 am by Hiro

» AE101 Corolla DX SW Station Wagon REAR Bumper Reinforcement & Brackets
205/35/R16 Experience, opinions, & thoughts EmptySun Dec 22, 2019 1:20 am by sozzled

» Grandpa`s Corolla
205/35/R16 Experience, opinions, & thoughts EmptyTue Dec 17, 2019 10:39 am by Azeem123

» My corolla 1.3Turbo
205/35/R16 Experience, opinions, & thoughts EmptyTue Dec 17, 2019 9:25 am by crusty rolla

» conversion to 5x114.3
205/35/R16 Experience, opinions, & thoughts EmptyFri Dec 13, 2019 12:48 pm by noodlekid

» What is your Coilover Setup ?
205/35/R16 Experience, opinions, & thoughts EmptyWed Dec 04, 2019 8:20 am by gold94corolla

» gold94corolla's Subaru Impreza Front Bumper DIY!
205/35/R16 Experience, opinions, & thoughts EmptySun Dec 01, 2019 10:04 am by Azeem123

» Front & Rear 5 Lug Swap
205/35/R16 Experience, opinions, & thoughts EmptyTue Nov 26, 2019 1:48 pm by CloudStrife

» Power retractable (folding) JDM mirror wiring
205/35/R16 Experience, opinions, & thoughts EmptyTue Nov 19, 2019 5:36 am by Dennisrolla

» FOR SALE
205/35/R16 Experience, opinions, & thoughts EmptyMon Nov 18, 2019 4:38 am by Mikey23

Who is online?
In total there are 9 users online :: 0 Registered, 0 Hidden and 9 Guests

None

Most users ever online was 213 on Tue Nov 05, 2019 11:32 am
Top posters
miib14 (7358)
205/35/R16 Experience, opinions, & thoughts I_vote_lcap205/35/R16 Experience, opinions, & thoughts I_voting_bar205/35/R16 Experience, opinions, & thoughts I_vote_rcap 
gold94corolla (5199)
205/35/R16 Experience, opinions, & thoughts I_vote_lcap205/35/R16 Experience, opinions, & thoughts I_voting_bar205/35/R16 Experience, opinions, & thoughts I_vote_rcap 
SHEHROZE ARAIN (1783)
205/35/R16 Experience, opinions, & thoughts I_vote_lcap205/35/R16 Experience, opinions, & thoughts I_voting_bar205/35/R16 Experience, opinions, & thoughts I_vote_rcap 
MirrorEyes (1540)
205/35/R16 Experience, opinions, & thoughts I_vote_lcap205/35/R16 Experience, opinions, & thoughts I_voting_bar205/35/R16 Experience, opinions, & thoughts I_vote_rcap 
magweal (1403)
205/35/R16 Experience, opinions, & thoughts I_vote_lcap205/35/R16 Experience, opinions, & thoughts I_voting_bar205/35/R16 Experience, opinions, & thoughts I_vote_rcap 
Sgt_Lyna (1243)
205/35/R16 Experience, opinions, & thoughts I_vote_lcap205/35/R16 Experience, opinions, & thoughts I_voting_bar205/35/R16 Experience, opinions, & thoughts I_vote_rcap 
Kiwi-Corolla (1218)
205/35/R16 Experience, opinions, & thoughts I_vote_lcap205/35/R16 Experience, opinions, & thoughts I_voting_bar205/35/R16 Experience, opinions, & thoughts I_vote_rcap 
knite (1102)
205/35/R16 Experience, opinions, & thoughts I_vote_lcap205/35/R16 Experience, opinions, & thoughts I_voting_bar205/35/R16 Experience, opinions, & thoughts I_vote_rcap 
Corolla Sound (1102)
205/35/R16 Experience, opinions, & thoughts I_vote_lcap205/35/R16 Experience, opinions, & thoughts I_voting_bar205/35/R16 Experience, opinions, & thoughts I_vote_rcap 
Argew24 (1044)
205/35/R16 Experience, opinions, & thoughts I_vote_lcap205/35/R16 Experience, opinions, & thoughts I_voting_bar205/35/R16 Experience, opinions, & thoughts I_vote_rcap 
Statistics
We have 3780 registered users
The newest registered user is Seeker

Our users have posted a total of 42320 messages in 2950 subjects
Search
 
 

Display results as :
 
Rechercher Advanced Search
Please Donate to the Site
Like Us On Facebook!

Share
 

 205/35/R16 Experience, opinions, & thoughts

Go down 
AuthorMessage
Corolla Sound
Supreme Member!
Supreme Member!
Corolla Sound

Posts : 1102
Reputation : 14
Join date : 2012-02-05
Age : 34
Location : Ontario, Canada

205/35/R16 Experience, opinions, & thoughts Empty
PostSubject: 205/35/R16 Experience, opinions, & thoughts   205/35/R16 Experience, opinions, & thoughts EmptySat Aug 11, 2012 11:32 am

Ive been using my 205/35/R16 Nankang Ultrasport 2 tires on Voxx rims for a while now with no complaints in terms of handling and comfort. However, 205 Sport tires seem to be a bit too much tire. I can just barely chirp the tires on smooth pavement on a hot day. I tried showing off for my buddy today in the rain (not raining but road was wet) and put it down a good half throttle from 0 and it gripped right up (I tried to do a burn out lol). Though I suppose it has its benefits, I challenged an integra in the rain to 50 kph and won because they just spun out haha.

Im thinking about trading my rims and tires for some 185/35/16s. I just wanna be able to do a little burn out here and there. and its time I switched up my rims, although the ones I have suite the car so well.


_________________
205/35/R16 Experience, opinions, & thoughts Coroll12m
Back to top Go down
gold94corolla
Site Administrator
Site Administrator
gold94corolla

Posts : 5199
Reputation : 181
Join date : 2011-04-29
Age : 33

205/35/R16 Experience, opinions, & thoughts Empty
PostSubject: Re: 205/35/R16 Experience, opinions, & thoughts   205/35/R16 Experience, opinions, & thoughts EmptySat Aug 11, 2012 12:30 pm

The car can't do a burnout because it's not powerful enough. It's a Corolla anyway. I would not sacrifice grip, cornering, and braking just for a little showing off.

_________________
205/35/R16 Experience, opinions, & thoughts 22907_s205/35/R16 Experience, opinions, & thoughts Kangar13
Back to top Go down
Corolla Sound
Supreme Member!
Supreme Member!
Corolla Sound

Posts : 1102
Reputation : 14
Join date : 2012-02-05
Age : 34
Location : Ontario, Canada

205/35/R16 Experience, opinions, & thoughts Empty
PostSubject: Re: 205/35/R16 Experience, opinions, & thoughts   205/35/R16 Experience, opinions, & thoughts EmptySat Aug 11, 2012 12:42 pm

Lol true, even with a header and short ram, I still have no power. I guess Ill just have to wait til the winter and Ill throw the ol 175s back on her and play in the snow.

but actually in all seriousness now, I missed another good point...Fuel economy, I noticed I burn more fuel with 205s. Anybody else notice if they burn more fuel with bigger tires?

_________________
205/35/R16 Experience, opinions, & thoughts Coroll12m
Back to top Go down
knite
Supreme Member!
Supreme Member!
knite

Posts : 1102
Reputation : 15
Join date : 2012-07-08
Location : Kent

205/35/R16 Experience, opinions, & thoughts Empty
PostSubject: Re: 205/35/R16 Experience, opinions, & thoughts   205/35/R16 Experience, opinions, & thoughts EmptySat Aug 11, 2012 12:51 pm

I had 185/145/15's on my old car and every time i hit a pot hole i thought id hit a wall!! must be even worse on 35's as they would be like wafer thin tyres :S

I agree with chris I wouldnt sacrifice handling for a bit of fun cause you will gain so much more speed from out cornering a larger faster car :p in the uk you can only do 70mph top speed so I would say handling is far more important than speed Smile


_________________
205/35/R16 Experience, opinions, & thoughts Siggy1png
Back to top Go down
kennydang91
Supreme Member!
Supreme Member!
kennydang91

Posts : 1022
Reputation : 46
Join date : 2012-02-29
Age : 28

205/35/R16 Experience, opinions, & thoughts Empty
PostSubject: Re: 205/35/R16 Experience, opinions, & thoughts   205/35/R16 Experience, opinions, & thoughts EmptySat Aug 11, 2012 12:59 pm

Do a J turn and floor it as soon as the car is whipped around! lol that's the only way our cars can do a half decent peel-out. Laughing

And I definitely do notice a decrease a slight decrease in mileage when using 205s compared to the original 185s.

Don't forget about speedometer error as well! I'm currently using 195/50/16. If I could do it again I'd go with 185/50/16. Wish I found this site when I picked my tires.:
http://www.willtheyfit.com/

_________________
205/35/R16 Experience, opinions, & thoughts Kenny11
flickr
CarDomain        
facebook
Back to top Go down
Corolla Sound
Supreme Member!
Supreme Member!
Corolla Sound

Posts : 1102
Reputation : 14
Join date : 2012-02-05
Age : 34
Location : Ontario, Canada

205/35/R16 Experience, opinions, & thoughts Empty
PostSubject: Re: 205/35/R16 Experience, opinions, & thoughts   205/35/R16 Experience, opinions, & thoughts EmptySat Aug 11, 2012 1:26 pm

I could probably do a tiny burn out if my car was a manual, but its an automatic Mad and im too scared to do a j turn with my rusted stock suspension lol. Id probably bust a ball joint or break a wheel hub lol.. no its not that bad but no need to go testing it lol.

Ill just wait till it snows.

and my car came with 175s originally.

_________________
205/35/R16 Experience, opinions, & thoughts Coroll12m
Back to top Go down
magweal
New Zealand Rep
New Zealand Rep
magweal

Posts : 1403
Reputation : 42
Join date : 2011-12-14
Age : 36
Location : Auckland, New Zealand

205/35/R16 Experience, opinions, & thoughts Empty
PostSubject: Re: 205/35/R16 Experience, opinions, & thoughts   205/35/R16 Experience, opinions, & thoughts EmptySat Aug 11, 2012 9:33 pm

No burn outs in a corolla, Ishaq I thinks theres a challenge thrown down.
Back to top Go down
gold94corolla
Site Administrator
Site Administrator
gold94corolla

Posts : 5199
Reputation : 181
Join date : 2011-04-29
Age : 33

205/35/R16 Experience, opinions, & thoughts Empty
PostSubject: Re: 205/35/R16 Experience, opinions, & thoughts   205/35/R16 Experience, opinions, & thoughts EmptySun Aug 12, 2012 5:59 am

^^^ LOL, make a new thread with Corolla burnouts! Very Happy

Yes, wider tires result in worse gasmileage. More surface area = more traction = more sticky

_________________
205/35/R16 Experience, opinions, & thoughts 22907_s205/35/R16 Experience, opinions, & thoughts Kangar13
Back to top Go down
miib14
Site Administrator
Site Administrator
miib14

Posts : 7358
Reputation : 158
Join date : 2011-04-27
Age : 29
Location : Manchester

205/35/R16 Experience, opinions, & thoughts Empty
PostSubject: Re: 205/35/R16 Experience, opinions, & thoughts   205/35/R16 Experience, opinions, & thoughts EmptyMon Aug 13, 2012 12:52 pm

haha, i can do burnouts no problem but iv got falken tyres and they grip the floor so not as good, but if you guys want, i can put some crap tyres on and do burnouts for you (dont wanna wreck my falkens...) lol

do burnouts in my dads wagon quite abit lol... got 175/60/14 on there 1.3 manual ftw lol!

_________________
205/35/R16 Experience, opinions, & thoughts MIIB

★ 1993 Toyota Corolla Saloon  ★
トヨタ 花
♥️ AE-202 Owner ♥️

It's all about N/A Power.....
198 bhp and 148 lbft

Back to top Go down
http://www.ae101ownersclub.com
miib14
Site Administrator
Site Administrator
miib14

Posts : 7358
Reputation : 158
Join date : 2011-04-27
Age : 29
Location : Manchester

205/35/R16 Experience, opinions, & thoughts Empty
PostSubject: Re: 205/35/R16 Experience, opinions, & thoughts   205/35/R16 Experience, opinions, & thoughts EmptyMon Aug 13, 2012 12:53 pm

and im pretty sure most of the turbo guys spin up quite easily toooo

_________________
205/35/R16 Experience, opinions, & thoughts MIIB

★ 1993 Toyota Corolla Saloon  ★
トヨタ 花
♥️ AE-202 Owner ♥️

It's all about N/A Power.....
198 bhp and 148 lbft

Back to top Go down
http://www.ae101ownersclub.com
Corolla Sound
Supreme Member!
Supreme Member!
Corolla Sound

Posts : 1102
Reputation : 14
Join date : 2012-02-05
Age : 34
Location : Ontario, Canada

205/35/R16 Experience, opinions, & thoughts Empty
PostSubject: Re: 205/35/R16 Experience, opinions, & thoughts   205/35/R16 Experience, opinions, & thoughts EmptyMon Aug 13, 2012 1:26 pm

Is there a vid or any pics of Pnkys 4A-FTE (the hulk) doing a burnout? I imagine that does a nice peel! I think it even has NOS?

_________________
205/35/R16 Experience, opinions, & thoughts Coroll12m
Back to top Go down
Hiro
Super Member
Super Member
Hiro

Posts : 523
Reputation : 16
Join date : 2012-04-27
Age : 36
Location : Newcastle, Australia

205/35/R16 Experience, opinions, & thoughts Empty
PostSubject: Re: 205/35/R16 Experience, opinions, & thoughts   205/35/R16 Experience, opinions, & thoughts EmptyFri Aug 24, 2012 3:22 pm

Out of curiousity, why are you running 205/35/16s? Best-fit profile to match standard is 205/45/16 here, and they are hard enough to find in decent tyres and bloody expensive when you do, I would imagine 35s would be even more so.

In saying that I can break traction from a standing start in just about any weather if I want to (does involve some torture of the clutch though) and I'm running 205/40/17 Bridgestone RE050As, which were standard-fitment tyres for high-performance sports cars the world over (BMW, Nissan, Porsche, Mercedes etc).

_________________
205/35/R16 Experience, opinions, & thoughts New_sig-1
AE102 - Charlene the Old Faithful 71.7kw atw, amassing awesome JDM options
JZZ30 - Lexi the Spacecruiser 1JZGTE>>3SGE. Now an organ donor
ST162 - Charlie the non-ghey Celica. 3SGE>>4AGE - GOOOOONE
AE82 - Rosie the Bitsa from Hell!, 70.8kw atw. Has been converted into garage space and money at last
KE55 - Billie the Beast.  Sadly missed

Back to top Go down
knite
Supreme Member!
Supreme Member!
knite

Posts : 1102
Reputation : 15
Join date : 2012-07-08
Location : Kent

205/35/R16 Experience, opinions, & thoughts Empty
PostSubject: Re: 205/35/R16 Experience, opinions, & thoughts   205/35/R16 Experience, opinions, & thoughts EmptyFri Aug 24, 2012 9:18 pm

im on 205 40/45 16s and i had to tear away from lights to get ahead of new shape mini and i dipped the clutch and to my suprise hardly any wheelspin Smile was awesome Smile

my point is i dont think mines that easy to spin the wheels :s

_________________
205/35/R16 Experience, opinions, & thoughts Siggy1png
Back to top Go down
Corolla Sound
Supreme Member!
Supreme Member!
Corolla Sound

Posts : 1102
Reputation : 14
Join date : 2012-02-05
Age : 34
Location : Ontario, Canada

205/35/R16 Experience, opinions, & thoughts Empty
PostSubject: Re: 205/35/R16 Experience, opinions, & thoughts   205/35/R16 Experience, opinions, & thoughts EmptySat Aug 25, 2012 2:15 am

My buddy used to own a 93 Corolla (automatic) with just a SRI and a header. He had 215/35/R18s tires on it and really lightweight rims. He said he could light those tires up like he was on driving on butter!


_________________
205/35/R16 Experience, opinions, & thoughts Coroll12m
Back to top Go down
Hiro
Super Member
Super Member
Hiro

Posts : 523
Reputation : 16
Join date : 2012-04-27
Age : 36
Location : Newcastle, Australia

205/35/R16 Experience, opinions, & thoughts Empty
PostSubject: Re: 205/35/R16 Experience, opinions, & thoughts   205/35/R16 Experience, opinions, & thoughts EmptySat Aug 25, 2012 10:54 am

Spinning tyres really isn't that hard in a FWD with an open diff....

_________________
205/35/R16 Experience, opinions, & thoughts New_sig-1
AE102 - Charlene the Old Faithful 71.7kw atw, amassing awesome JDM options
JZZ30 - Lexi the Spacecruiser 1JZGTE>>3SGE. Now an organ donor
ST162 - Charlie the non-ghey Celica. 3SGE>>4AGE - GOOOOONE
AE82 - Rosie the Bitsa from Hell!, 70.8kw atw. Has been converted into garage space and money at last
KE55 - Billie the Beast.  Sadly missed

Back to top Go down
Sponsored content




205/35/R16 Experience, opinions, & thoughts Empty
PostSubject: Re: 205/35/R16 Experience, opinions, & thoughts   205/35/R16 Experience, opinions, & thoughts Empty

Back to top Go down
 
205/35/R16 Experience, opinions, & thoughts
Back to top 
Page 1 of 1

Permissions in this forum:You cannot reply to topics in this forum
AE101 Owners Club :: AE101 Tech: DIYs, Q&A :: Wheels & Tyres-
Jump to: