AE101 Owners Club
Please log in or register
AE101 Owners Club
Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.


AE101 Owners Club is a group of 7th gen Corolla enthusiasts from all over the world. If you're a fellow enthusiast, then join us today!
 
HomeRegisterLog in
Log in
Username:
Password:
Log in automatically: 
:: I forgot my password
Latest topics
» what coilovers are better
205/35/R16 Experience, opinions, & thoughts EmptySun Sep 13, 2020 11:40 am by Eze12quiel

» Ayuda con un swap de 7a 1.8 & 1mz
205/35/R16 Experience, opinions, & thoughts EmptySun Sep 13, 2020 11:38 am by Eze12quiel

» FS: Rare AE101 JDM Underseat Storage Drawer
205/35/R16 Experience, opinions, & thoughts EmptySun Aug 23, 2020 10:17 am by gold94corolla

» Looking for Parts
205/35/R16 Experience, opinions, & thoughts EmptyThu Aug 20, 2020 11:51 pm by AntonioRolla

» 95 Corolla SI for breaking
205/35/R16 Experience, opinions, & thoughts EmptyThu Aug 20, 2020 11:39 pm by AntonioRolla

» Looking at a 97 Corolla
205/35/R16 Experience, opinions, & thoughts EmptyWed Aug 19, 2020 2:19 am by gracen

» 1993 Corolla FX GT 1.6 20 Valve 4A-GE (UK)
205/35/R16 Experience, opinions, & thoughts EmptyThu Jul 23, 2020 11:27 pm by corolla158

» AE101 BZ Touring front bumper with overrider
205/35/R16 Experience, opinions, & thoughts EmptyFri Jul 17, 2020 7:48 pm by power7714

» The "Green Panda" Hatchback
205/35/R16 Experience, opinions, & thoughts EmptyThu Jul 09, 2020 5:42 pm by ORAIOO

» New here, from New Zealand
205/35/R16 Experience, opinions, & thoughts EmptyTue Jul 07, 2020 11:06 am by gold94corolla

» Not a Corolla, sorta...... Prizm build in North Carolina
205/35/R16 Experience, opinions, & thoughts EmptyThu Jul 02, 2020 2:34 pm by 7AGPrizm

» Let us know who you are! (name, photo, etc)
205/35/R16 Experience, opinions, & thoughts EmptySat Jun 27, 2020 10:21 am by gold94corolla

» Newbie from Seattle, Wa
205/35/R16 Experience, opinions, & thoughts EmptySat Jun 27, 2020 7:59 am by HanzoRolla69

» FS: AE101 Corolla FX-GT JDM Front Bumper
205/35/R16 Experience, opinions, & thoughts EmptySat Jun 27, 2020 3:11 am by HanzoRolla69

» ★ The AE-202 Project (Continued) ★
205/35/R16 Experience, opinions, & thoughts EmptyThu Jun 18, 2020 10:41 am by miib14

Who is online?
In total there are 7 users online :: 0 Registered, 0 Hidden and 7 Guests

None

Most users ever online was 213 on Tue Nov 05, 2019 11:32 am
Top posters
miib14 (7382)
205/35/R16 Experience, opinions, & thoughts I_vote_lcap205/35/R16 Experience, opinions, & thoughts I_voting_bar205/35/R16 Experience, opinions, & thoughts I_vote_rcap 
gold94corolla (5220)
205/35/R16 Experience, opinions, & thoughts I_vote_lcap205/35/R16 Experience, opinions, & thoughts I_voting_bar205/35/R16 Experience, opinions, & thoughts I_vote_rcap 
SHEHROZE ARAIN (1783)
205/35/R16 Experience, opinions, & thoughts I_vote_lcap205/35/R16 Experience, opinions, & thoughts I_voting_bar205/35/R16 Experience, opinions, & thoughts I_vote_rcap 
MirrorEyes (1540)
205/35/R16 Experience, opinions, & thoughts I_vote_lcap205/35/R16 Experience, opinions, & thoughts I_voting_bar205/35/R16 Experience, opinions, & thoughts I_vote_rcap 
magweal (1403)
205/35/R16 Experience, opinions, & thoughts I_vote_lcap205/35/R16 Experience, opinions, & thoughts I_voting_bar205/35/R16 Experience, opinions, & thoughts I_vote_rcap 
Sgt_Lyna (1243)
205/35/R16 Experience, opinions, & thoughts I_vote_lcap205/35/R16 Experience, opinions, & thoughts I_voting_bar205/35/R16 Experience, opinions, & thoughts I_vote_rcap 
Kiwi-Corolla (1218)
205/35/R16 Experience, opinions, & thoughts I_vote_lcap205/35/R16 Experience, opinions, & thoughts I_voting_bar205/35/R16 Experience, opinions, & thoughts I_vote_rcap 
knite (1102)
205/35/R16 Experience, opinions, & thoughts I_vote_lcap205/35/R16 Experience, opinions, & thoughts I_voting_bar205/35/R16 Experience, opinions, & thoughts I_vote_rcap 
Corolla Sound (1102)
205/35/R16 Experience, opinions, & thoughts I_vote_lcap205/35/R16 Experience, opinions, & thoughts I_voting_bar205/35/R16 Experience, opinions, & thoughts I_vote_rcap 
Argew24 (1049)
205/35/R16 Experience, opinions, & thoughts I_vote_lcap205/35/R16 Experience, opinions, & thoughts I_voting_bar205/35/R16 Experience, opinions, & thoughts I_vote_rcap 
Top posting users this month
Eze12quiel
205/35/R16 Experience, opinions, & thoughts I_vote_lcap205/35/R16 Experience, opinions, & thoughts I_voting_bar205/35/R16 Experience, opinions, & thoughts I_vote_rcap 
Statistics
We have 3853 registered users
The newest registered user is josias0098

Our users have posted a total of 42471 messages in 2973 subjects
Search
 
 

Display results as :
 
Rechercher Advanced Search
Please Donate to the Site
Like Us On Facebook!
Most Viewed Topics
RARE JDM OEM PARTS
★ The AE-202 Project ★
★ The AE-202 Project (Continued) ★
Corolla Sound's 97 DX AE101 On-Going Project
Project ce100 rises
Lexus IS300
Corolla BEAMS conversion
Rachids XLi to GLTSJDMi+ project
AE101 from the Philippines
★ 1993 Toyota Corolla 花冠 ターボ Saloon ★
Most active topics
★ The AE-202 Project ★
My 93' Corolla from New Zealand (JDM AE100)
Lexus IS300
Corolla Sound's 97 DX AE101 On-Going Project
★ The AE-202 Project (Continued) ★
Project ce100 rises
Rachids XLi to GLTSJDMi+ project
RARE JDM OEM PARTS
KennyDang91's Corolla 95 (Warning: Tons of pics on page 1)
Daves Corolla
September 2020
MonTueWedThuFriSatSun
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
282930    
CalendarCalendar

 

 205/35/R16 Experience, opinions, & thoughts

Go down 
AuthorMessage
Corolla Sound
Supreme Member!
Supreme Member!
Corolla Sound

Posts : 1102
Reputation : 15
Join date : 2012-02-05
Age : 34
Location : Ontario, Canada

205/35/R16 Experience, opinions, & thoughts Empty
PostSubject: 205/35/R16 Experience, opinions, & thoughts   205/35/R16 Experience, opinions, & thoughts EmptySat Aug 11, 2012 11:32 am

Ive been using my 205/35/R16 Nankang Ultrasport 2 tires on Voxx rims for a while now with no complaints in terms of handling and comfort. However, 205 Sport tires seem to be a bit too much tire. I can just barely chirp the tires on smooth pavement on a hot day. I tried showing off for my buddy today in the rain (not raining but road was wet) and put it down a good half throttle from 0 and it gripped right up (I tried to do a burn out lol). Though I suppose it has its benefits, I challenged an integra in the rain to 50 kph and won because they just spun out haha.

Im thinking about trading my rims and tires for some 185/35/16s. I just wanna be able to do a little burn out here and there. and its time I switched up my rims, although the ones I have suite the car so well.


_________________
205/35/R16 Experience, opinions, & thoughts Coroll12m
Back to top Go down
gold94corolla
Site Administrator
Site Administrator
gold94corolla

Posts : 5220
Reputation : 181
Join date : 2011-04-29
Age : 34

205/35/R16 Experience, opinions, & thoughts Empty
PostSubject: Re: 205/35/R16 Experience, opinions, & thoughts   205/35/R16 Experience, opinions, & thoughts EmptySat Aug 11, 2012 12:30 pm

The car can't do a burnout because it's not powerful enough. It's a Corolla anyway. I would not sacrifice grip, cornering, and braking just for a little showing off.
Back to top Go down
Corolla Sound
Supreme Member!
Supreme Member!
Corolla Sound

Posts : 1102
Reputation : 15
Join date : 2012-02-05
Age : 34
Location : Ontario, Canada

205/35/R16 Experience, opinions, & thoughts Empty
PostSubject: Re: 205/35/R16 Experience, opinions, & thoughts   205/35/R16 Experience, opinions, & thoughts EmptySat Aug 11, 2012 12:42 pm

Lol true, even with a header and short ram, I still have no power. I guess Ill just have to wait til the winter and Ill throw the ol 175s back on her and play in the snow.

but actually in all seriousness now, I missed another good point...Fuel economy, I noticed I burn more fuel with 205s. Anybody else notice if they burn more fuel with bigger tires?

_________________
205/35/R16 Experience, opinions, & thoughts Coroll12m
Back to top Go down
knite
Supreme Member!
Supreme Member!
knite

Posts : 1102
Reputation : 15
Join date : 2012-07-08
Location : Kent

205/35/R16 Experience, opinions, & thoughts Empty
PostSubject: Re: 205/35/R16 Experience, opinions, & thoughts   205/35/R16 Experience, opinions, & thoughts EmptySat Aug 11, 2012 12:51 pm

I had 185/145/15's on my old car and every time i hit a pot hole i thought id hit a wall!! must be even worse on 35's as they would be like wafer thin tyres :S

I agree with chris I wouldnt sacrifice handling for a bit of fun cause you will gain so much more speed from out cornering a larger faster car :p in the uk you can only do 70mph top speed so I would say handling is far more important than speed Smile


_________________
205/35/R16 Experience, opinions, & thoughts Siggy1png
Back to top Go down
kennydang91
Supreme Member!
Supreme Member!
kennydang91

Posts : 1022
Reputation : 46
Join date : 2012-02-29
Age : 28

205/35/R16 Experience, opinions, & thoughts Empty
PostSubject: Re: 205/35/R16 Experience, opinions, & thoughts   205/35/R16 Experience, opinions, & thoughts EmptySat Aug 11, 2012 12:59 pm

Do a J turn and floor it as soon as the car is whipped around! lol that's the only way our cars can do a half decent peel-out. Laughing

And I definitely do notice a decrease a slight decrease in mileage when using 205s compared to the original 185s.

Don't forget about speedometer error as well! I'm currently using 195/50/16. If I could do it again I'd go with 185/50/16. Wish I found this site when I picked my tires.:
http://www.willtheyfit.com/

_________________
205/35/R16 Experience, opinions, & thoughts Kenny11
flickr
CarDomain        
facebook
Back to top Go down
Corolla Sound
Supreme Member!
Supreme Member!
Corolla Sound

Posts : 1102
Reputation : 15
Join date : 2012-02-05
Age : 34
Location : Ontario, Canada

205/35/R16 Experience, opinions, & thoughts Empty
PostSubject: Re: 205/35/R16 Experience, opinions, & thoughts   205/35/R16 Experience, opinions, & thoughts EmptySat Aug 11, 2012 1:26 pm

I could probably do a tiny burn out if my car was a manual, but its an automatic Mad and im too scared to do a j turn with my rusted stock suspension lol. Id probably bust a ball joint or break a wheel hub lol.. no its not that bad but no need to go testing it lol.

Ill just wait till it snows.

and my car came with 175s originally.

_________________
205/35/R16 Experience, opinions, & thoughts Coroll12m
Back to top Go down
magweal
New Zealand Rep
New Zealand Rep
magweal

Posts : 1403
Reputation : 42
Join date : 2011-12-14
Age : 37
Location : Auckland, New Zealand

205/35/R16 Experience, opinions, & thoughts Empty
PostSubject: Re: 205/35/R16 Experience, opinions, & thoughts   205/35/R16 Experience, opinions, & thoughts EmptySat Aug 11, 2012 9:33 pm

No burn outs in a corolla, Ishaq I thinks theres a challenge thrown down.
Back to top Go down
gold94corolla
Site Administrator
Site Administrator
gold94corolla

Posts : 5220
Reputation : 181
Join date : 2011-04-29
Age : 34

205/35/R16 Experience, opinions, & thoughts Empty
PostSubject: Re: 205/35/R16 Experience, opinions, & thoughts   205/35/R16 Experience, opinions, & thoughts EmptySun Aug 12, 2012 5:59 am

^^^ LOL, make a new thread with Corolla burnouts! Very Happy

Yes, wider tires result in worse gasmileage. More surface area = more traction = more sticky
Back to top Go down
miib14
Site Administrator
Site Administrator
miib14

Posts : 7382
Reputation : 175
Join date : 2011-04-27
Age : 30
Location : Manchester

205/35/R16 Experience, opinions, & thoughts Empty
PostSubject: Re: 205/35/R16 Experience, opinions, & thoughts   205/35/R16 Experience, opinions, & thoughts EmptyMon Aug 13, 2012 12:52 pm

haha, i can do burnouts no problem but iv got falken tyres and they grip the floor so not as good, but if you guys want, i can put some crap tyres on and do burnouts for you (dont wanna wreck my falkens...) lol

do burnouts in my dads wagon quite abit lol... got 175/60/14 on there 1.3 manual ftw lol!

_________________
205/35/R16 Experience, opinions, & thoughts MIIB

★ 1993 Toyota Corolla Saloon  ★
トヨタ 花
♥️ AE-202 Owner ♥️

It's all about N/A Power.....
198 bhp and 148 lbft

Back to top Go down
http://www.ae101ownersclub.com
miib14
Site Administrator
Site Administrator
miib14

Posts : 7382
Reputation : 175
Join date : 2011-04-27
Age : 30
Location : Manchester

205/35/R16 Experience, opinions, & thoughts Empty
PostSubject: Re: 205/35/R16 Experience, opinions, & thoughts   205/35/R16 Experience, opinions, & thoughts EmptyMon Aug 13, 2012 12:53 pm

and im pretty sure most of the turbo guys spin up quite easily toooo

_________________
205/35/R16 Experience, opinions, & thoughts MIIB

★ 1993 Toyota Corolla Saloon  ★
トヨタ 花
♥️ AE-202 Owner ♥️

It's all about N/A Power.....
198 bhp and 148 lbft

Back to top Go down
http://www.ae101ownersclub.com
Corolla Sound
Supreme Member!
Supreme Member!
Corolla Sound

Posts : 1102
Reputation : 15
Join date : 2012-02-05
Age : 34
Location : Ontario, Canada

205/35/R16 Experience, opinions, & thoughts Empty
PostSubject: Re: 205/35/R16 Experience, opinions, & thoughts   205/35/R16 Experience, opinions, & thoughts EmptyMon Aug 13, 2012 1:26 pm

Is there a vid or any pics of Pnkys 4A-FTE (the hulk) doing a burnout? I imagine that does a nice peel! I think it even has NOS?

_________________
205/35/R16 Experience, opinions, & thoughts Coroll12m
Back to top Go down
Hiro
Super Member
Super Member
Hiro

Posts : 531
Reputation : 16
Join date : 2012-04-27
Age : 36
Location : Newcastle, Australia

205/35/R16 Experience, opinions, & thoughts Empty
PostSubject: Re: 205/35/R16 Experience, opinions, & thoughts   205/35/R16 Experience, opinions, & thoughts EmptyFri Aug 24, 2012 3:22 pm

Out of curiousity, why are you running 205/35/16s? Best-fit profile to match standard is 205/45/16 here, and they are hard enough to find in decent tyres and bloody expensive when you do, I would imagine 35s would be even more so.

In saying that I can break traction from a standing start in just about any weather if I want to (does involve some torture of the clutch though) and I'm running 205/40/17 Bridgestone RE050As, which were standard-fitment tyres for high-performance sports cars the world over (BMW, Nissan, Porsche, Mercedes etc).

_________________
205/35/R16 Experience, opinions, & thoughts New_sig-1
AE102 - Charlene the Old Faithful 71.7kw atw, amassing awesome JDM options
JZZ30 - Lexi the Spacecruiser 1JZGTE>>3SGE. Now an organ donor
ST162 - Charlie the non-ghey Celica. 3SGE>>4AGE - GOOOOONE
AE82 - Rosie the Bitsa from Hell!, 70.8kw atw. Has been converted into garage space and money at last
KE55 - Billie the Beast.  Sadly missed

Back to top Go down
knite
Supreme Member!
Supreme Member!
knite

Posts : 1102
Reputation : 15
Join date : 2012-07-08
Location : Kent

205/35/R16 Experience, opinions, & thoughts Empty
PostSubject: Re: 205/35/R16 Experience, opinions, & thoughts   205/35/R16 Experience, opinions, & thoughts EmptyFri Aug 24, 2012 9:18 pm

im on 205 40/45 16s and i had to tear away from lights to get ahead of new shape mini and i dipped the clutch and to my suprise hardly any wheelspin Smile was awesome Smile

my point is i dont think mines that easy to spin the wheels :s

_________________
205/35/R16 Experience, opinions, & thoughts Siggy1png
Back to top Go down
Corolla Sound
Supreme Member!
Supreme Member!
Corolla Sound

Posts : 1102
Reputation : 15
Join date : 2012-02-05
Age : 34
Location : Ontario, Canada

205/35/R16 Experience, opinions, & thoughts Empty
PostSubject: Re: 205/35/R16 Experience, opinions, & thoughts   205/35/R16 Experience, opinions, & thoughts EmptySat Aug 25, 2012 2:15 am

My buddy used to own a 93 Corolla (automatic) with just a SRI and a header. He had 215/35/R18s tires on it and really lightweight rims. He said he could light those tires up like he was on driving on butter!


_________________
205/35/R16 Experience, opinions, & thoughts Coroll12m
Back to top Go down
Hiro
Super Member
Super Member
Hiro

Posts : 531
Reputation : 16
Join date : 2012-04-27
Age : 36
Location : Newcastle, Australia

205/35/R16 Experience, opinions, & thoughts Empty
PostSubject: Re: 205/35/R16 Experience, opinions, & thoughts   205/35/R16 Experience, opinions, & thoughts EmptySat Aug 25, 2012 10:54 am

Spinning tyres really isn't that hard in a FWD with an open diff....

_________________
205/35/R16 Experience, opinions, & thoughts New_sig-1
AE102 - Charlene the Old Faithful 71.7kw atw, amassing awesome JDM options
JZZ30 - Lexi the Spacecruiser 1JZGTE>>3SGE. Now an organ donor
ST162 - Charlie the non-ghey Celica. 3SGE>>4AGE - GOOOOONE
AE82 - Rosie the Bitsa from Hell!, 70.8kw atw. Has been converted into garage space and money at last
KE55 - Billie the Beast.  Sadly missed

Back to top Go down
Sponsored content




205/35/R16 Experience, opinions, & thoughts Empty
PostSubject: Re: 205/35/R16 Experience, opinions, & thoughts   205/35/R16 Experience, opinions, & thoughts Empty

Back to top Go down
 
205/35/R16 Experience, opinions, & thoughts
Back to top 
Page 1 of 1

Permissions in this forum:You cannot reply to topics in this forum
AE101 Owners Club :: AE101 Tech: DIYs, Q&A :: Wheels & Tyres-
Jump to: