AE101 Owners Club
Please log in or register
AE101 Owners Club
Please log in or register
AE101 Owners Club
Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.


AE101 Owners Club is a group of 7th gen Corolla enthusiasts from all over the world. If you're a fellow enthusiast, then join us today!
 
HomeRegisterLog in
Log in
Username:
Password:
Log in automatically: 
:: I forgot my password
Latest topics
» LF: 3-Point Strut Bar / Strut Brace
205/35/R16 Experience, opinions, & thoughts EmptyWed Nov 10, 2021 10:22 am by ReeKeeVee

» Daphne the ZRE182
205/35/R16 Experience, opinions, & thoughts EmptySun Nov 07, 2021 2:39 pm by Hiro

» E10 Vestatec saloon / wagon foglights (EU bumpers)
205/35/R16 Experience, opinions, & thoughts EmptySun Nov 07, 2021 4:26 am by Toyoloog

» BZ touing NZ
205/35/R16 Experience, opinions, & thoughts EmptyMon Nov 01, 2021 11:04 am by timkren

» USA Roll Call...
205/35/R16 Experience, opinions, & thoughts EmptyFri Oct 29, 2021 7:56 am by Bryan1

» Corolla e10 ae101 digital speedo.
205/35/R16 Experience, opinions, & thoughts EmptyWed Oct 13, 2021 5:02 pm by Mark suerte

» Rare foglight set for FX bumper.
205/35/R16 Experience, opinions, & thoughts EmptySat Oct 09, 2021 5:18 pm by AE101

» Kickfli12's AE102 wagon
205/35/R16 Experience, opinions, & thoughts EmptySat Oct 09, 2021 11:51 am by C88castillo

» Anyone from nz
205/35/R16 Experience, opinions, & thoughts EmptyMon Aug 23, 2021 8:36 pm by RedRocket

» Quarterly Picture Contest (Jan 2017 - Mar 2017)
205/35/R16 Experience, opinions, & thoughts EmptyMon Aug 16, 2021 9:54 am by Bryan1

» Shop Recommendations for Los Angeles / San Gabriel Valley Specifically?
205/35/R16 Experience, opinions, & thoughts EmptyMon Aug 16, 2021 9:46 am by Bryan1

» my other toyotas
205/35/R16 Experience, opinions, & thoughts EmptySat Aug 14, 2021 10:00 pm by happ67

» my other toyota 1971 Carina
205/35/R16 Experience, opinions, & thoughts EmptySat Aug 14, 2021 9:51 pm by happ67

» my other 1992 liftback 1.6 GLI
205/35/R16 Experience, opinions, & thoughts EmptySat Aug 14, 2021 9:49 pm by happ67

» my 1.6 GLI 1992
205/35/R16 Experience, opinions, & thoughts EmptySat Aug 14, 2021 9:47 pm by happ67

Who is online?
In total there are 9 users online :: 0 Registered, 0 Hidden and 9 Guests :: 1 Bot

None

Most users ever online was 316 on Thu Nov 25, 2021 1:28 am
Top posters
miib14 (7382)
205/35/R16 Experience, opinions, & thoughts I_vote_lcap205/35/R16 Experience, opinions, & thoughts I_voting_bar205/35/R16 Experience, opinions, & thoughts I_vote_rcap 
gold94corolla (5222)
205/35/R16 Experience, opinions, & thoughts I_vote_lcap205/35/R16 Experience, opinions, & thoughts I_voting_bar205/35/R16 Experience, opinions, & thoughts I_vote_rcap 
SHEHROZE ARAIN (1783)
205/35/R16 Experience, opinions, & thoughts I_vote_lcap205/35/R16 Experience, opinions, & thoughts I_voting_bar205/35/R16 Experience, opinions, & thoughts I_vote_rcap 
MirrorEyes (1540)
205/35/R16 Experience, opinions, & thoughts I_vote_lcap205/35/R16 Experience, opinions, & thoughts I_voting_bar205/35/R16 Experience, opinions, & thoughts I_vote_rcap 
magweal (1403)
205/35/R16 Experience, opinions, & thoughts I_vote_lcap205/35/R16 Experience, opinions, & thoughts I_voting_bar205/35/R16 Experience, opinions, & thoughts I_vote_rcap 
Sgt_Lyna (1243)
205/35/R16 Experience, opinions, & thoughts I_vote_lcap205/35/R16 Experience, opinions, & thoughts I_voting_bar205/35/R16 Experience, opinions, & thoughts I_vote_rcap 
Kiwi-Corolla (1218)
205/35/R16 Experience, opinions, & thoughts I_vote_lcap205/35/R16 Experience, opinions, & thoughts I_voting_bar205/35/R16 Experience, opinions, & thoughts I_vote_rcap 
knite (1102)
205/35/R16 Experience, opinions, & thoughts I_vote_lcap205/35/R16 Experience, opinions, & thoughts I_voting_bar205/35/R16 Experience, opinions, & thoughts I_vote_rcap 
Corolla Sound (1102)
205/35/R16 Experience, opinions, & thoughts I_vote_lcap205/35/R16 Experience, opinions, & thoughts I_voting_bar205/35/R16 Experience, opinions, & thoughts I_vote_rcap 
Argew24 (1051)
205/35/R16 Experience, opinions, & thoughts I_vote_lcap205/35/R16 Experience, opinions, & thoughts I_voting_bar205/35/R16 Experience, opinions, & thoughts I_vote_rcap 
Top posting users this month
No user
Statistics
We have 3918 registered users
The newest registered user is Sportster883

Our users have posted a total of 42510 messages in 2986 subjects
Search
 
 

Display results as :
 
Rechercher Advanced Search
Please Donate to the Site
Like Us On Facebook!
Most Viewed Topics
RARE JDM OEM PARTS
★ The AE-202 Project ★
★ The AE-202 Project (Continued) ★
Corolla Sound's 97 DX AE101 On-Going Project
Project ce100 rises
Lexus IS300
Corolla BEAMS conversion
Rachids XLi to GLTSJDMi+ project
AE101 from the Philippines
★ 1993 Toyota Corolla 花冠 ターボ Saloon ★
Most active topics
★ The AE-202 Project ★
My 93' Corolla from New Zealand (JDM AE100)
Lexus IS300
Corolla Sound's 97 DX AE101 On-Going Project
★ The AE-202 Project (Continued) ★
Project ce100 rises
Rachids XLi to GLTSJDMi+ project
RARE JDM OEM PARTS
KennyDang91's Corolla 95 (Warning: Tons of pics on page 1)
Daves Corolla
December 2021
MonTueWedThuFriSatSun
  12345
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
2728293031  
CalendarCalendar

 

 205/35/R16 Experience, opinions, & thoughts

Go down 
+3
knite
gold94corolla
Corolla Sound
7 posters
AuthorMessage
Corolla Sound
Supreme Member!
Supreme Member!
Corolla Sound


Posts : 1102
Reputation : 15
Join date : 2012-02-05
Age : 35
Location : Ontario, Canada

205/35/R16 Experience, opinions, & thoughts Empty
PostSubject: 205/35/R16 Experience, opinions, & thoughts   205/35/R16 Experience, opinions, & thoughts EmptySat Aug 11, 2012 11:32 am

Ive been using my 205/35/R16 Nankang Ultrasport 2 tires on Voxx rims for a while now with no complaints in terms of handling and comfort. However, 205 Sport tires seem to be a bit too much tire. I can just barely chirp the tires on smooth pavement on a hot day. I tried showing off for my buddy today in the rain (not raining but road was wet) and put it down a good half throttle from 0 and it gripped right up (I tried to do a burn out lol). Though I suppose it has its benefits, I challenged an integra in the rain to 50 kph and won because they just spun out haha.

Im thinking about trading my rims and tires for some 185/35/16s. I just wanna be able to do a little burn out here and there. and its time I switched up my rims, although the ones I have suite the car so well.


_________________
205/35/R16 Experience, opinions, & thoughts Coroll12m
Back to top Go down
gold94corolla
Site Administrator
Site Administrator
gold94corolla


Posts : 5222
Reputation : 181
Join date : 2011-04-29
Age : 35

205/35/R16 Experience, opinions, & thoughts Empty
PostSubject: Re: 205/35/R16 Experience, opinions, & thoughts   205/35/R16 Experience, opinions, & thoughts EmptySat Aug 11, 2012 12:30 pm

The car can't do a burnout because it's not powerful enough. It's a Corolla anyway. I would not sacrifice grip, cornering, and braking just for a little showing off.
Back to top Go down
Corolla Sound
Supreme Member!
Supreme Member!
Corolla Sound


Posts : 1102
Reputation : 15
Join date : 2012-02-05
Age : 35
Location : Ontario, Canada

205/35/R16 Experience, opinions, & thoughts Empty
PostSubject: Re: 205/35/R16 Experience, opinions, & thoughts   205/35/R16 Experience, opinions, & thoughts EmptySat Aug 11, 2012 12:42 pm

Lol true, even with a header and short ram, I still have no power. I guess Ill just have to wait til the winter and Ill throw the ol 175s back on her and play in the snow.

but actually in all seriousness now, I missed another good point...Fuel economy, I noticed I burn more fuel with 205s. Anybody else notice if they burn more fuel with bigger tires?

_________________
205/35/R16 Experience, opinions, & thoughts Coroll12m
Back to top Go down
knite
Supreme Member!
Supreme Member!
knite


Posts : 1102
Reputation : 15
Join date : 2012-07-08
Location : Kent

205/35/R16 Experience, opinions, & thoughts Empty
PostSubject: Re: 205/35/R16 Experience, opinions, & thoughts   205/35/R16 Experience, opinions, & thoughts EmptySat Aug 11, 2012 12:51 pm

I had 185/145/15's on my old car and every time i hit a pot hole i thought id hit a wall!! must be even worse on 35's as they would be like wafer thin tyres :S

I agree with chris I wouldnt sacrifice handling for a bit of fun cause you will gain so much more speed from out cornering a larger faster car :p in the uk you can only do 70mph top speed so I would say handling is far more important than speed Smile


_________________
205/35/R16 Experience, opinions, & thoughts Siggy1png
Back to top Go down
kennydang91
Supreme Member!
Supreme Member!
kennydang91


Posts : 1022
Reputation : 46
Join date : 2012-02-29
Age : 29

205/35/R16 Experience, opinions, & thoughts Empty
PostSubject: Re: 205/35/R16 Experience, opinions, & thoughts   205/35/R16 Experience, opinions, & thoughts EmptySat Aug 11, 2012 12:59 pm

Do a J turn and floor it as soon as the car is whipped around! lol that's the only way our cars can do a half decent peel-out. Laughing

And I definitely do notice a decrease a slight decrease in mileage when using 205s compared to the original 185s.

Don't forget about speedometer error as well! I'm currently using 195/50/16. If I could do it again I'd go with 185/50/16. Wish I found this site when I picked my tires.:
http://www.willtheyfit.com/

_________________
205/35/R16 Experience, opinions, & thoughts Kenny11
flickr
CarDomain        
facebook
Back to top Go down
Corolla Sound
Supreme Member!
Supreme Member!
Corolla Sound


Posts : 1102
Reputation : 15
Join date : 2012-02-05
Age : 35
Location : Ontario, Canada

205/35/R16 Experience, opinions, & thoughts Empty
PostSubject: Re: 205/35/R16 Experience, opinions, & thoughts   205/35/R16 Experience, opinions, & thoughts EmptySat Aug 11, 2012 1:26 pm

I could probably do a tiny burn out if my car was a manual, but its an automatic Mad and im too scared to do a j turn with my rusted stock suspension lol. Id probably bust a ball joint or break a wheel hub lol.. no its not that bad but no need to go testing it lol.

Ill just wait till it snows.

and my car came with 175s originally.

_________________
205/35/R16 Experience, opinions, & thoughts Coroll12m
Back to top Go down
magweal
New Zealand Rep
New Zealand Rep
magweal


Posts : 1403
Reputation : 42
Join date : 2011-12-14
Age : 38
Location : Auckland, New Zealand

205/35/R16 Experience, opinions, & thoughts Empty
PostSubject: Re: 205/35/R16 Experience, opinions, & thoughts   205/35/R16 Experience, opinions, & thoughts EmptySat Aug 11, 2012 9:33 pm

No burn outs in a corolla, Ishaq I thinks theres a challenge thrown down.
Back to top Go down
gold94corolla
Site Administrator
Site Administrator
gold94corolla


Posts : 5222
Reputation : 181
Join date : 2011-04-29
Age : 35

205/35/R16 Experience, opinions, & thoughts Empty
PostSubject: Re: 205/35/R16 Experience, opinions, & thoughts   205/35/R16 Experience, opinions, & thoughts EmptySun Aug 12, 2012 5:59 am

^^^ LOL, make a new thread with Corolla burnouts! Very Happy

Yes, wider tires result in worse gasmileage. More surface area = more traction = more sticky
Back to top Go down
miib14
Site Administrator
Site Administrator
miib14


Posts : 7382
Reputation : 175
Join date : 2011-04-27
Age : 31
Location : Manchester

205/35/R16 Experience, opinions, & thoughts Empty
PostSubject: Re: 205/35/R16 Experience, opinions, & thoughts   205/35/R16 Experience, opinions, & thoughts EmptyMon Aug 13, 2012 12:52 pm

haha, i can do burnouts no problem but iv got falken tyres and they grip the floor so not as good, but if you guys want, i can put some crap tyres on and do burnouts for you (dont wanna wreck my falkens...) lol

do burnouts in my dads wagon quite abit lol... got 175/60/14 on there 1.3 manual ftw lol!

_________________
205/35/R16 Experience, opinions, & thoughts MIIB

★ 1993 Toyota Corolla Saloon  ★
トヨタ 花
♥️ AE-202 Owner ♥️

It's all about N/A Power.....
198 bhp and 148 lbft

4efte Build : http://www.ae101ownersclub.com/t3-1993-toyota-corolla-saloon

3SGE Build Part 1 : http://www.ae101ownersclub.com/t291-the-ae-202-project
3SGE Build Part 2 : http://www.ae101ownersclub.com/t1388-the-ae-202-project-continued
Back to top Go down
http://www.ae101ownersclub.com
miib14
Site Administrator
Site Administrator
miib14


Posts : 7382
Reputation : 175
Join date : 2011-04-27
Age : 31
Location : Manchester

205/35/R16 Experience, opinions, & thoughts Empty
PostSubject: Re: 205/35/R16 Experience, opinions, & thoughts   205/35/R16 Experience, opinions, & thoughts EmptyMon Aug 13, 2012 12:53 pm

and im pretty sure most of the turbo guys spin up quite easily toooo

_________________
205/35/R16 Experience, opinions, & thoughts MIIB

★ 1993 Toyota Corolla Saloon  ★
トヨタ 花
♥️ AE-202 Owner ♥️

It's all about N/A Power.....
198 bhp and 148 lbft

4efte Build : http://www.ae101ownersclub.com/t3-1993-toyota-corolla-saloon

3SGE Build Part 1 : http://www.ae101ownersclub.com/t291-the-ae-202-project
3SGE Build Part 2 : http://www.ae101ownersclub.com/t1388-the-ae-202-project-continued
Back to top Go down
http://www.ae101ownersclub.com
Corolla Sound
Supreme Member!
Supreme Member!
Corolla Sound


Posts : 1102
Reputation : 15
Join date : 2012-02-05
Age : 35
Location : Ontario, Canada

205/35/R16 Experience, opinions, & thoughts Empty
PostSubject: Re: 205/35/R16 Experience, opinions, & thoughts   205/35/R16 Experience, opinions, & thoughts EmptyMon Aug 13, 2012 1:26 pm

Is there a vid or any pics of Pnkys 4A-FTE (the hulk) doing a burnout? I imagine that does a nice peel! I think it even has NOS?

_________________
205/35/R16 Experience, opinions, & thoughts Coroll12m
Back to top Go down
Hiro
Super Member
Super Member
Hiro


Posts : 535
Reputation : 16
Join date : 2012-04-27
Age : 37
Location : Newcastle, Australia

205/35/R16 Experience, opinions, & thoughts Empty
PostSubject: Re: 205/35/R16 Experience, opinions, & thoughts   205/35/R16 Experience, opinions, & thoughts EmptyFri Aug 24, 2012 3:22 pm

Out of curiousity, why are you running 205/35/16s? Best-fit profile to match standard is 205/45/16 here, and they are hard enough to find in decent tyres and bloody expensive when you do, I would imagine 35s would be even more so.

In saying that I can break traction from a standing start in just about any weather if I want to (does involve some torture of the clutch though) and I'm running 205/40/17 Bridgestone RE050As, which were standard-fitment tyres for high-performance sports cars the world over (BMW, Nissan, Porsche, Mercedes etc).

_________________
205/35/R16 Experience, opinions, & thoughts New_sig-1
AE102 - Charlene the Old Faithful 71.7kw atw, amassing awesome JDM options
JZZ30 - Lexi the Spacecruiser 1JZGTE>>3SGE. Now an organ donor
ST162 - Charlie the non-ghey Celica. 3SGE>>4AGE - GOOOOONE
AE82 - Rosie the Bitsa from Hell!, 70.8kw atw. Has been converted into garage space and money at last
KE55 - Billie the Beast.  Sadly missed

Back to top Go down
knite
Supreme Member!
Supreme Member!
knite


Posts : 1102
Reputation : 15
Join date : 2012-07-08
Location : Kent

205/35/R16 Experience, opinions, & thoughts Empty
PostSubject: Re: 205/35/R16 Experience, opinions, & thoughts   205/35/R16 Experience, opinions, & thoughts EmptyFri Aug 24, 2012 9:18 pm

im on 205 40/45 16s and i had to tear away from lights to get ahead of new shape mini and i dipped the clutch and to my suprise hardly any wheelspin Smile was awesome Smile

my point is i dont think mines that easy to spin the wheels :s

_________________
205/35/R16 Experience, opinions, & thoughts Siggy1png
Back to top Go down
Corolla Sound
Supreme Member!
Supreme Member!
Corolla Sound


Posts : 1102
Reputation : 15
Join date : 2012-02-05
Age : 35
Location : Ontario, Canada

205/35/R16 Experience, opinions, & thoughts Empty
PostSubject: Re: 205/35/R16 Experience, opinions, & thoughts   205/35/R16 Experience, opinions, & thoughts EmptySat Aug 25, 2012 2:15 am

My buddy used to own a 93 Corolla (automatic) with just a SRI and a header. He had 215/35/R18s tires on it and really lightweight rims. He said he could light those tires up like he was on driving on butter!


_________________
205/35/R16 Experience, opinions, & thoughts Coroll12m
Back to top Go down
Hiro
Super Member
Super Member
Hiro


Posts : 535
Reputation : 16
Join date : 2012-04-27
Age : 37
Location : Newcastle, Australia

205/35/R16 Experience, opinions, & thoughts Empty
PostSubject: Re: 205/35/R16 Experience, opinions, & thoughts   205/35/R16 Experience, opinions, & thoughts EmptySat Aug 25, 2012 10:54 am

Spinning tyres really isn't that hard in a FWD with an open diff....

_________________
205/35/R16 Experience, opinions, & thoughts New_sig-1
AE102 - Charlene the Old Faithful 71.7kw atw, amassing awesome JDM options
JZZ30 - Lexi the Spacecruiser 1JZGTE>>3SGE. Now an organ donor
ST162 - Charlie the non-ghey Celica. 3SGE>>4AGE - GOOOOONE
AE82 - Rosie the Bitsa from Hell!, 70.8kw atw. Has been converted into garage space and money at last
KE55 - Billie the Beast.  Sadly missed

Back to top Go down
Sponsored content





205/35/R16 Experience, opinions, & thoughts Empty
PostSubject: Re: 205/35/R16 Experience, opinions, & thoughts   205/35/R16 Experience, opinions, & thoughts Empty

Back to top Go down
 
205/35/R16 Experience, opinions, & thoughts
Back to top 
Page 1 of 1

Permissions in this forum:You cannot reply to topics in this forum
AE101 Owners Club :: AE101 Tech: DIYs, Q&A :: Wheels & Tyres-
Jump to: